top of page
BLACK SEEDS, THE - Dust & Dirt

BLACK SEEDS, THE - Dust & Dirt

Dust and Dirt is the fifth studio album by New Zealand reggae band The Black Seeds released on 8 April 2012. The album's first single, "Pippy Pip" was released on 28 February 2012.Dust and Dirt was self-recorded and produced by The Black Seeds in their Wellington studio and released on digital, CD, and limited edition heavy weight 12" double gatefold vinyl formatsThe Black Seeds are a musical group from Wellington, New Zealand.Their music is a fusion of dub, funk, afrobeat and soul.

Formed in 1998, The Black Seeds perform with eight members, with instruments including vocals, guitar, saxophone, trumpet, bass, drums, bongos, keyboard and wood block. They have two double-platinum selling albums in New Zealand,and successful European album releases through the German-based Sonar Kollektiv label.

The Black Seeds have released seven albums: Keep On Pushing L.P (2001) and On The Sun (2003), Into the Dojo (2006) and Solid Ground (2008), a live album and remix albums Pushed (2003) and Specials (2010).

Lead singer Barnaby Weir is also associated with the sideprojects Flash Harry and Fly My Pretties. Former band member Bret McKenzie is also a member of international award-winning comedy duo Flight of the Conchords, as well as playing Figwit the elf in Peter Jackson's The Lord of the Rings.In June 2011, trumpet player Andrew Christiansen left the band and was replaced by Barrett Hocking.

2012 Rhythm Method
  • Details

    Track Listing:
    1.Out Of Light
    2.Dust And Dirt
    3.Pippy Pip
    4.Wide Open
    5.The Bend
    6.Loose Cartilage
    8.Gabriel's Strut Dub
    9.Love Me Now
    10.Cracks In Our Crown
    11.Don't Turn Around
    12.Settle Down
    13.Rusted Story
bottom of page