top of page
CHILLS, THE Submarine Bells

CHILLS, THE Submarine Bells

The Chills in 1990 had an international deal with Slash Records in the States and London Records in the UK while remaining signed to Flying Nun in New Zealand where this album went to Number One and the lead single, “Heavenly Pop Hit” struck Number Two in the same week.  The album and single that nearly broke the band internationally and which represent the bands commercial high tide mark. 

And a great artistic success as well with the old live classic “The Oncoming Day” finally recorded to satisfaction and a range of material representing the range of The Chills to this date. Produced by Gary Smith, Martin Phillipps finally had the studio support to fully explore the full potential of the songs and sounds he heard in his head. “I Soar” and the song “Submarine Bells” link to future explorations.

- Roger Shepherd
  • Details

    Track Listing

    1 Heavenly Pop Hit
    2 Tied Up In Chain
    3 The Oncoming Day
    4 Past Past Part Fiction
    5 Singing In My Sleep
    6 I SOAR
    7 Dead Web
    8 Familiarity Breeds Contempt
    9 Don't Be - Memory
    10 Effloresce And Deliquesce
    11 Sweet Times
    12 Submarine Bells
bottom of page