Really more of an Impressions collection than a Curtis Mayfield one, this 16-track set spotlights Mayfield's time with the group and includes the classics "Gypsy Woman," "It's All Right," "I'm So Proud," and the gorgeous "People Get Ready," making a nice introduction to the early part of Mayfield's career before he went out on his own and began working a harder urban side of the musical street, although his themes and approach stayed remarkably consistent throughout it all. A master songwriter and arranger, this charming anthology shows he was something special from the very start. ~ Steve Leggett
  • Details

    Track Listing
    1. Gypsy Woman
    2. It's All Right
    3. I'm So Proud
    4. Keep on Pushing
    5. Amen
    6. People Get Ready
    7. Woman's Got Soul
    8. We're a Winner
    9. I'm the One Who Loves You
    10. Minstrel and Queen
    11. I've Been Trying
    12. You Must Believe Me
    13. I Need You
    14. You've Been Cheatin'
    15. You Always Hurt Me
    16. We're Rolling On