top of page


Universal is pleased to announce the release of the highly anticipated collaboration between two musical legends, Elton John and Leon Russell with The Union. This album marks the first time these iconic artists have worked together since 1970. Produced by Oscar and multiple-Grammy winning producer T Bone Burnett, who took home numerous awards in 2009 for his production work on Raising Sand with Robert Plant and Alison Krause, The Union features songs written by John and his lifelong lyricist Bernie Taupin, as well as in combination with the extraordinary talents of Russell and Burnett. Recorded live in the studio with John and Russell on dueling pianos, the album features a variety of musical genres from R&B, soul, gospel, country, pop and rock. Icons Neil Young and Brian Wilson provide guest vocals on the 16-track record along with legendary R&B organist Booker T. Jones, steel guitarist Robert Randolph and a 10-piece gospel choir. The Union is a unique collaboration of two of the most talented artists in the music business. Combining forces and fusing diverse talents, John and Russell along with Burnett have produced an extraordinary album.

2010 Universal
  • Details

    Track Listing

    1 If It Wasn't For Bad
    2 Eight Hundred Dollar Shoes
    3 Hey Ahab
    4 Gone To Shiloh
    5 Jimmie Rodgers' Dream
    6 There's No Tomorrow
    7 Monkey Suit
    8 The Best Part Of The Day
    9 A Dream Come True
    10 When Love Is Dying
    11 I Should Have Sent Roses
    12 Hearts Have Turned To Stone
    13 Never Too Old (To Hold Somebody)
    14 In The Hands Of Angels
bottom of page