top of page


Personnel: Melissa Etheridge (vocals, guitar); Philip Sayce (guitar, background vocals); Fritz Lewak (drums, percussion); Bernie Barlow, Lily Wilson (background vocals).Recording information: The Document Room, Malibu, CA; The Woodshed Studio, Malibu, CA.Author: Melissa Etheridge.Photographer: Danny Clinch.Melissa Etheridge's first full-length studio outing since her late 2004 diagnosis of breast cancer and subsequent chemotherapy, THE AWAKENING is the sound of a performer who has literally found a new lease on life. While Etheridge has never lacked passion, this set of songs is strikingly emotional, as evinced on the poppy yet poignant single "Message to Myself," which clearly references her illness and recovery. Those concerned that the raspy-voiced singer/guitarist has lost her edge, however, need not worry--"Imagine That" is an urgent track that not only rocks out, it directly takes the administration of President George W. Bush to task by relating the story of antiwar activist Cindy Sheehan. Other highlights of this dynamic and expressive collection include "The Universe Listened," a thoughtful acoustic tune, and "What Happens Tomorrow," a boisterous, gospel-tinged number. Easily one of the most engaging albums of Etheridge's impressive career, THE AWAKENING resonates with vitality and hope.

2007 Universal
  • Details

    Track Listing
    1. All There Is
    2. California
    3. An Unexpected Rain
    4. Message to Myself
    5. God Is in the People
    6. Map of the Stars
    7. Threesome
    8. All We Can Really Do
    9. I've Loved You Before
    10. A Simple Love
    11. Heroes and Friends
    12. The Kingdom of Heaven
    13. Open Your Mind
    14. The Universe Listened
    15. Imagine That
    16. What Happens Tomorrow
bottom of page