top of page


My Morning Jacket return with their seventh full-length album, The Waterfall. This release marks the band’s first studio album on Capitol Records, and fifth on Spunk.

My Morning Jacket arrived at Northern California’s Stinson Beach in late 2013 thinking only about making an album. The band was not prepared to be seduced. But within a couple of days, Jim James, Tom Blankenship, Patrick Hallahan, Carl Broemel and Bo Koster were in love with Panoramic House, a studio perched on a hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The natural beauty of the surrounding landscape, located only about a half hour north of the Golden Gate Bridge, combined with the almost mystical serenity flooded them with a charged sense of possibilities.

“For me, every record has the spirit of where we made it,” explains singer, guitarist, and primary songwriter Jim James. “Stinson Beach was so psychedelic and focused. It was almost like we lived on our own little moon out there. It feels like you’re up in the sky.”

On the new release there are moments that reach back to early albums such as 2001’s At Dawn and 2003’s It Still Moves, the record that gave the band a much broader audience. But the experimentation that marked 2004’s Z, 2008’s Evil Urges and James’ 2013 solo album, Regions of Light and Sound of God is clearly in effect.

The Waterfall sounds like history and decades colliding, like a record made by fervent music fans in search of that tingle up the spine. Inveterate music geeks will hear echoes of vintage rock and pop as MMJ continues to honor its influences without aping any of them; The Waterfall sounds like nothing else but also warmly familiar.

“That’s kind of the sound of this record, and my life, the sound of the page turning and not being sure what’s coming next,” said James.

2015 universal
  • Details

    Track listing

    1 Believe (Nobody Knows)
    2 Compound Fracture
    3 Like A River
    4 In Its Infancy (The Waterfall)
    5 Get The Point
    6 Spring (Among the Living)
    7 Thin Line
    8 Big Decisions
    9 Tropics (Erase Traces)
    10 Only Memories Remain
    11 Silence
    12 Hillside Song
    13 Compound Fracture (Miami Jungle Version)
    14 I Can't Wait
    15 Only Memories Remain (Jim Demo)
bottom of page