top of page
NUMBER 1'S: '70S SOUL - Various Artists

NUMBER 1'S: '70S SOUL - Various Artists

Containing 18 singles that topped the Black Singles/R&B chart during the '70s, this disc within Universal's attractive but cheaply packaged (if biodegradable) Number 1's series features a handful of songs that have appeared on countless sets -- such as Parliament's "Flash Light," Ohio Players' "Fire," the Brothers Johnson's "Strawberry Letter 23," and Diana Ross' "Love Hangover" -- along with others that have somehow not received nearly as much attention throughout the years -- such as Rufus & Chaka Khan's "Sweet Thing" and (especially) the Pointer Sisters' "How Long (Betcha Got a Chick on the Side)." If you were to throw this very light package into a stiff wind, it would likely smack you in the face before you got a chance to say "float on." ~ Andy Kellman

  • Details

    Track Listing
    1. Flash Light - Parliament
    2. Pt. 1 - Marvin Gaye Got to Give It Up
    3. Pt. 1 - James Brown Make It Funky
    4. Theme from Which Way Is Up - Stargard
    5. Love Hangover - Diana Ross
    6. Fire - The Ohio Players
    7. Hollywood Swinging - Kool & the Gang
    8. Dancing Machine - The Jackson 5
    9. You and I - Rick James
    10. (Every Time I Turn Around) Back in Love Again - L.T.D.
    11. How Long (Betcha' Got a Chick on the Side) - The Pointer Sisters
    12. Walk Away from Love - David Ruffin
    13. Tryin' to Love Two - William Bell
    14. Float On - The Floaters
    15. Sweet Thing - Rufus/Tony Maiden/Chaka Khan
    16. Strawberry Letter 23 - The Brothers Johnson
    17. Three Times a Lady - Commodores
    18. Reunited - Peaches & Herb
bottom of page