top of page
PJ HARVEY - Let England Shake

PJ HARVEY - Let England Shake

Let England Shake is the eighth studio album by English alternative rock musician PJ Harvey, released on 11 February 2011 by Island Records. Work on it began around the time of White Chalk's release in 2007, though it is a departure from the piano-driven introspection of that album. The album was written over a period of two-and-a-half years, and recorded in a five-week period at a church in Dorset in April and May 2010.

Upon its release the album received numerous accolades. It was named "Album of the Year" for 2011 by 16 publications and in September 2011 won the coveted Mercury Prize. It was PJ Harvey's fourth nomination overall (including another win in 2001), making her the most successful artist in the prize's history. The album also won the Uncut Music Award in November 2011, and is named Album of the Year in the 2012 Ivor Novello Awards.
  • Details

    Track Listing
    1. Let England Shake
    2. Last Living Rose, The
    3. Glorious Land, The
    4. Words That Maketh Murder, The
    5. All and Everyone
    6. On Battleship Hill
    7. England
    8. In the Dark Places
    9. Bitter Branches
    10. Hanging in the Wire
    11. Written on the Forehead
    12. Colour of the Earth, The
bottom of page