top of page
ROGER WATERS - Amused To Death (Remastered)

ROGER WATERS - Amused To Death (Remastered)

Roger Waters’ album AMUSED TO DEATH returns in a remastered release. AMUSED TO DEATH sounded the alarm about a society increasingly – and unthinkingly – in thrall to its television screens. Twenty-three years later, AMUSED TO DEATH speaks to our present moment in ways that could scarcely have been anticipated two decades ago.
“I’m remembering the record from [over] 20 years ago, that most of what I had to say then sadly still pertains today and is maybe even more relevant to our predicament as people in 2015 even than it was in 1992,” says Roger Waters.
An unblinking look at an entertainment-obsessed society, AMUSED TO DEATH addresses issues that have only grown in complexity and urgency over the past two decades. In 2015, television is just one option in an endless array of distractions available to us anytime, anywhere, courtesy of our laptops, tablets and smart phones. With eyes glued to our screens, the dilemmas and injustices of the real world can easily recede from view.The 2015 edition of AMUSED TO DEATH feature a new remastered stereo mix completed by long-time Roger Waters / Pink Floyd collaborator and co-producer, James Guthrie. The cover has been updated for 2015 by Sean Evans, the creative director of Waters’ 2010-2013 THE WALL LIVE tour and movie.
Produced by Roger Waters and Patrick Leonard, AMUSED TO DEATH is a musically ambitious work featuring a stellar line-up of musicians. Guitar legend Jeff Beck figures prominently on the album, bringing his signature virtuosity to eight songs. Guest vocalists include Don Henley (‘It’s A Miracle’), Rita Coolidge (‘Amused to Death’) and soul singer P.P. Arnold (‘Perfect Sense’ Parts I and II). Also contributing were Waters’ long-time collaborators, guitarist Andy Fairweather Low and drummer Graham Broad; percussionist Luis Conte; and Pat Leonard, who played keyboards on several tracks. The album reunited Waters with composer/arranger Michael Kamen, who supervised orchestral arrangemen
  • Details

    Track Listing

    1 The Ballad Of Bill Hubbard
    2 What God Wants, Part I
    3 Perfect Sense (Part I)
    4 Perfect Sense (Part II)
    5 The Bravery Of Being Out Of Range
    6 Late Home Tonight, Part I
    7 Late Home Tonight, Part II
    8 Too Much Rope
    9 What God Wants, Part II
    10 What God Wants, Part III
    11 Watching TV
    12 Three Wishes
    13 It's A Miracle
    14 Amused To Death
bottom of page