top of page
TAJ MAHAL - The Essential

TAJ MAHAL - The Essential

Henry Saint Clair Fredericks (born May 17, 1942), who uses the stage name Taj Mahal, is an American Grammy Award-winning blues musician. He often incorporates elements of world music into his works. A self-taught singer-songwriter and film composer who plays the guitar, piano, banjo and harmonica (among many other instruments), Mahal has done much to reshape the definition and scope of blues music over the course of his almost 50-year career by fusing it with nontraditional forms, including sounds from the Caribbean, Africa and the South Pacific.
  • Details

    Track Listing:

    Disc 1:
    1. Leaving Trunk
    2. Statesboro Blues
    3. Celebrated Walking Blues, The
    4. She Caught The Katy (And Left Me A Mule To Ride)
    5. Corinna
    6. Going Up The Country Gonna Paint My Mailbox
    7. Take A Giant Step
    8. Six Days On The Road
    9. Country Blues
    10. Fishin' Blues
    11. Ain't Gwine Whistle Dixie (Anymo')
    12. You're Gonna Need Somebody On Your Bond
    13. Happy To Be Just Like I Am
    14. West Indian Revelation
    15. Texas Woman Blues
    16. Cake Walk Into Town
    17. Frankie & Albert
    18. Railroad Bill

    Disc 2:
    1. Johnny Too Bad
    2. Slave Driver
    3. St. Kitts Woman, (Clara)
    4. When I Feel Teh Sea Beneath My Soul
    5. Satisfied 'N' Tickled Too
    6. Love Theme In The Key Of D
    7. Everybody Is Somebody
    8. Crossing
    9. Don't Call Us
    10. Big Legged Mamas Are Back In Style
    11. That's How Strong My Love Is
    12. Here In The Dark
    13. Lovin' In My Baby's Eyes
    14. Senor Blues
    15. New Hula Blues, The
    16. Queen Bee
    17. Cruisin'
    18. John Henry - (with Etta Baker)
bottom of page