top of page
TAME IMPALA - Currents

TAME IMPALA - Currents

Global sensation TAME IMPALA have announced their highly anticipated third studio LP ‘Currents’ will be released worldwide Friday July 17th. The 13 track album is available to preorder offering ‘Let It Happen’, ‘Cause I’m A Man’ and two brand new tracks ‘Eventually’ and ‘Disciples’ as instant grat tracks. 

Currents was written, recorded, produced and mixed by Kevin Parker in Fremantle, West Australia. Lyrically the record finds Parker in a very different place in 2015 to where he was seven years ago. Transitions in life, relationships, perspectives, mindsets – Currents maps Parker’s evolution through these and finds him a brand new person. Musically, Currents sounds like the work of a player on top of his game and having a blast, Parker indulging his whims and unafraid to dive down the rabbit hole after an idea. Again operating as a one man studio band, Parker’s resultant record calls to mind contemporary hip hop production, Thriller, fried 70s funk, the irreverent playground Daft Punk presented on Discovery, swathes of future pop and emotional 80s balladry, all filtered through a thoroughly modern psychedelic third eye. A genre-bending soundscape fuelled equally by curiosity as it is consciousness; it’s an exhilarating new territory for Tame Impala. Typically, initial Tame Impala recordings saw Parker’s vocal hidden beneath a layer of psychedelic fuzz, drenched in reverb, lyrics ambiguous. Currents find’s Kevin Parker’s voice front and centre, so no bones are made about his intent.

2015 Universal
  • Details

    Track Listing

    1 Let It Happen
    2 Nangs
    3 The Moment
    4 Yes I'm Changing
    5 Eventually
    6 Gossip
    7 The Less I Know The Better
    8 Past Life
    9 Disciples
    10 Cause I'm A Man
    11 Reality In Motion
    12 Love Paranoia
    13 New Person, Same Old Mistakes
bottom of page