top of page
U2 - October

U2 - October

U2: Bono (vocals); The Edge (guitar, piano); Adam Clayton (bass); Larry Mullen, Jr. (drums).Recorded at Windmill Lane, Dublin, Ireland in July and August 1981. Originally released on Island (90092).Personnel: Bono (vocals, guitar, harmonica); The Edge (guitar, piano, keyboards); Steve Wickham (electric violin); Adam Clayton (bass guitar); Larry ?, Larry Mullen, Jr. (drums).Audio Remasterer: Arnie Acosta.Liner Note Author: Neil McCormick.Recording information: Windmill Lane Recording Studio, Dublin, Ireland (07/1981-08/1981); Windmill Lane, Dublin, Ireland (07/1981-08/1981).Photographers: Adrian Boot; Iain Finlay.Though it's probably one of their least-acclaimed albums, OCTOBER is where it all began to come together for U2. The youthful exuberance they demonstrated on BOY was now a given, but for this, their second album, the conceptual end of things began to coalesce as well. The Edge had begun to expand his sonic palette, and the effects-heavy guitar approach that he would rely on for the next several years came to full fruition here. There's further development of the bold, anthemic approach that would come to characterize the band's arrangements, and the songwriting is just plain better. Most affecting, and indicative of the group's progress is the emotional epic "Gloria;" full of resounding major chords and throbbing rhythms, it's simultaneously an open admission of self-doubt and a call to arms to embrace life's uncertainties. This contrast is what makes OCTOBER, along with much of U2's early work, so effective.

1990 Universal
  • Details

    Track Listing
    1. Gloria
    2. I Fall Down
    3. I Threw a Brick Through a Window
    4. Rejoice
    5. Fire
    6. Tomorrow
    7. October
    8. With a Shout
    9. Stranger in a Strange Land
    10. Scarlet
    11. Is That All?
bottom of page