top of page
WARREN ZEVON - Excitable Boy

WARREN ZEVON - Excitable Boy

Excitable Boy is the third album by Warren Zevon, released in 1978. It includes the top 40 success "Werewolves of London". The album brought Warren to commercial attention and remains the best-selling album of his career. A remastered and expanded edition was released during 2007.

The tracks "Excitable Boy" and "Werewolves of London" were considered macabrely humorous by some critics. The historical "Veracruz" dramatizes the United States occupation of Veracruz, and likewise "Roland the Headless Thompson Gunner" is a fictionalization of a mercenary in Africa. "Lawyers, Guns and Money" is a tongue-in-cheek take on Cold War paranoia. In addition, there are two ballads about life and relationships ("Accidentally Like a Martyr" and "Tenderness on the Block"), as well as a dance tune ("Nighttime in the Switching Yard").

1978 Warner
  • Details

    1 "Johnny Strikes Up the Band" – 2:49
    2 "Roland the Headless Thompson Gunner" (David Lindell, Zevon) – 3:47
    3 "Excitable Boy" (LeRoy Marinell, Zevon) – 2:40
    4 "Werewolves of London" (Marinell, Waddy Wachtel, Zevon) – 3:27
    5 "Accidentally Like a Martyr" – 3:37
    6 "Nighttime in the Switching Yard" (Jorge Calderón, Lindell, Wachtel, Zevon) – 4:15
    7 "Veracruz" (Calderón, Zevon) – 3:30
    8 "Tenderness on the Block" (Jackson Browne, Zevon) – 3:55
    9 "Lawyers, Guns and Money" – 3:29

    Bonus Tracks (2007 reissue)
    10 "I Need a Truck" (Outtake) – 0:50
    11 "Werewolves of London" (Alternate version) (Marinell, Wachtel, Zevon) – 3:41
    12 "Tule's Blues" (Solo Piano Version) – 3:13
    13 "Frozen Notes" (Strings Version) – 1:59
bottom of page