top of page


"In this her latest CD, Whirimako has cultivated a strong intellectual base to advance contemporary Maori music which promotes individual creative ability. In a smoother temperament and style, Whirimako has put us in touch with ourselves. 

She also writes of common enterprise and encourages us to recognize the timeless values shared in music, bringing it together with the traditions of wananga (scholarship) and connecting it with the people and the environment. The notion of links between the poet and the audience becomes marvelously absorbed in a sitting and the synergy of Maori oral traditions is carried forward with a heightened visual perspective.

'Hohou Te Rongo' charts Maori synergy as it heals the wounds of the soul and allows essential expressions and verbal energy sources to have their roots firmly planted in Maori oral tradition. Her songs bring us to a realization of our true condition."
Whirimako has taken another direction on "Hohou Te Rongo", and focused on the last decade of new compositions. Along the way, Whirmako is joined by some of the finest musicians in Maoridom today - Dave Hiaqkita, Tama and Whetu Renata, Darren Ormsby, Leyton Greening, Nick Nahi and from the Pacific Kim Halliday.

2003 Ode
  • Details

    Track Listing:
    1. Wahine Whakairo
    2. Te Whiu
    3. Te Mauri o nga waka
    4. Kia Kaura ra
    5. Tuhoe
    6. Kei hea taku reo
    7. Te Arohanui
    8. Karangatia
    9. Hohou te rongo
    10. Turanawaewae
    11. Mareikura
    12. Kei rite ki te moa
    13. Within these walls
    14. Hauora
bottom of page